Dicksboro County Football Champions 2024

Dicksboro 1-09 Lisdowney 1-06

Dicksboro GAA and Camogie club collected their 1st silverware of 2024 in defeating a determined Lisdowney side in tricky second half conditions in Castlecomer on Thursday night bringing home the Edward Langton Senior Football Championship cup on a 1-09 to 1-06 final scoreline. At half time with Dicksboro leading by 1-08 to 0-04, one would have thought that the city side with ease through the second half and collect the spoils but a seriously hard working Lisdowney side outscored the victors by 1-02 to 0-01 in the second half to force a tight finish in worsening weather conditions. Dicksboro weathered the storm overhead and on the pitch to bring home their 3rd Senior Football crown having previously being victorious in 1994 and 1997.

Dicksboro were by far the better team in the opening half with Edward Moylan pointing from 25 yards from play following good work by Liam Moore. Dicksboro ran and carried the ball well and further increased their lead through further pointed frees by Moylan along with a well taken goal and a point by a hard working Liam Moore at centre forward to open up a 1-04 to 0-00 lead by the 12th minute. The signs looked ominous for Lisdowney as their game plan to feed ball to Mick Kenny at full forward came unstuck due to the strong running and athleticism of the Boro players all over the pitch. Dicksboro`s domination continued and they opened a lead of 1-07 to 0-01, with Lisdowney`s opening score coming from the afore mentioned Mick Kenny in the 20th minute from a placed ball. Dicksboro`s scores during this period came from a Shane Stapleton point and further points by Ed Moylan`s left foot from close in pop over frees and a 45 yard free. At this juncture, Lisdowney introduced a lively David (Doc) O`Carroll and brought Mick Kenny out to centre forward to win much needed possession of the ball. Lisdowney improved greatly towards the break scoring four more points through Mick Kenny frees and a fisted effort by David O Carroll following a one-two movement with Lar Campion. Dicksboro`s solitary return was a well taken point by full forward Matthew Kelleher to leave the half time score at Dicksboro 1-08 to Lisdowney 0-04.

The second half opened amid darkening skies and increasingly wet conditions but the Ballycomey pitch stood firm as a low scoring but enthralling second half entertained the good attendance at this first senior mens final of 2024. Straight from the throw in, Lisdowney worked the ball down the field and lively centre fielder Richie McEvoy pointed from close range to the delight of the Lisdowney supporters. Indeed Lisdowney upped the ante greatly and dominated ball possession for most of the second half as the Boro hit a lull period creating very few scoring chances. Stalemate ensued for ten minutes with both teams working hard to retain the greasy ball with scores missed at both ends. Dicksboro`ssolitary score of the second half came as a long ball into Aidan Nolan drew a foul which Edward Moylan duly dispatched over the bar to give the Boro what seemed to be a commanding lead of 1-09 to 0-05 by the 16th minute of the second half. The Lisdowney men had other ideas and following a mix up in the Boro defense in the 21st minute, half forward Willie Kenny booted the ball to the back of the city side net to leave the score at 1-09 to 1-05 – a major boost for the north Kilkenny outfit. Lisdowney pressed hard and the Boro lived dangerously at times in the closing minutes. A further point by sub Jack Dunphy closed the gap but the Bororegained composure and held out to win their 3rd ever Senior Football Championship title on a final scoreline of 1-09 to 1-06 with captain Eoin Fennelly accepting the Edward Langton cup to send the city side home happy – no cows were milked in the Boro on Friday morning – a Leinster campaign awaits later in 2024. Who wants to speak of the doubl!

Both sides must be credited with a fine sporting game in worsening conditions. Credit too must go to referee Eamonn Larkin and his officials and to Castlecomer GAA club for the provision of parking, marshals and shop facilities at a well presented Ballycomey grounds.

Best for the Boro were Eoghan Moylan, Niall Rowe, Tom Kenny and Joe Sheehan in defense with captain Eoin Fennelly, Bill Sheehan, Shane Stapleton and Edward Moylan being the biggest thorns in the Lisdowney defense. Lisdowney`s Lar Campion, Peter Bergin, Richie McEvoy, Willie Kenny, David O Carroll and Mick Kenny battled hardest to turn the tables on the Boro.

Scorers :

Lisdowney : Willie Kenny (1-0), Mick Kenny (0-2 frees), Lar Campion, David O Carroll, Richie McEvoy and Jack Dunphy (0-1).

Dicksboro: Edward Moylan (0-06 : 0:04 frees, 0-01 45), Liam Moore 1-01, Shane Stapleton and Matthew Kelleher 0-01.

Footnote : the last time Dicksboro won this title in 1997 , Aidan Maher (current Dicksboro football manager) son of the legendary Paddy “The Rock Maher” played at corner back – GAA player still giving back 27 years later. Fair dues.

Next Local Heroes…