Kilkenny County Council nominates three outstanding groups for IPB Pride of Place Awards 2023

St. Canice's Community Action: L-R: Stephen Murphy Director St. Canices Community Action, Teresa Delahunty, Wendy Taylor, Karin Todd, Declan Nelson (Judge Pride of Place), Jenny Cook, John Fitzgerald (Judge Pride of Place), Liz Hogan, Samuel Morgan, Agatha Manning, Stephanie Brennan, Michelle Claffey, Margaret Burney, Pax Falsey, Lianne Kelly (Kilkenny County Council), Deirdre Beale, Sean McKeown (Kilkenny County Council), Anne Marie Shortall (Kilkenny County Council). Photographer: Harry Reid.

Kilkenny County Council proudly announces the nominated three exceptional community groups for the prestigious IPB Pride of Place Awards 2023. These nominations celebrate the outstanding contributions made by local organisations in enhancing the quality of life within their communities and fostering a spirit of unity and pride.

The three nominated groups and their respective award categories are as follows:

St. Canice’s Community Action were nominated for the Community category. The centre stands as a beacon of support for both the local community and the broader Kilkenny region. Their comprehensive range of services includes:

• The Fr. McGrath Family Resource Centre

• The Learning Tree Childcare Service

• Parenting / Counselling / Mediation Services

• Kilkenny Multimedia IT Training Centre

• St. Canice’s Neighbourhood Hall

• Older Persons Support

• Education & Employment Services .

Their commitment to serving the community exemplifies the spirit of Pride of Place. – Nominated in the Population category (population 500-1500). has transformed the village into a vibrant and engaging community with a vision for sustainable economic growth. Notable achievements include the creation of a new playground and parking facility, a pristine walking track at the GAA pitch, the remarkable Millennium Park Project, comprehensive village signage, and the thriving Community-run Loop Café.’s dedication to preserving tradition, heritage, arts, and natural amenities has made a lasting impact.

Callan Community Energy Company – Nominated in the Climate & Biodiversity category.

Callan Community Energy Company (CCE), registered as a CLG (Company Limited by Guarantee) in 2020, is poised to revolutionise Callan’s energy landscape by striving to achieve carbon-neutral energy production for the entire town by 2030. Owned and operated by the people of Callan, CCE is open to community members of all ages and backgrounds. With support from Kilkenny County Council, Kilkenny Leader Partnership, 3CEA, local businesses, and the public, the company is leading the way by installing and operating solar infrastructure. Notably, they have established the first community-owned electric vehicle charging point in Ireland, marking a significant step toward their vision of community-owned energy assets powering the town.

A panel of esteemed judges, including John Fitzgerald, former City Manager of Dublin City Council, and Declan Nelson, former County Manager of Westmeath County Council, visited each nominated group on September 14th and 15th, 2023, to assess their initiatives and community impact.

The winners of the IPB Pride of Place Awards will be revealed during a gala awards ceremony scheduled to take place in Armagh in November 2023. The Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council, Cllr. Michael Doyle, in extending his best wishes to all three nominated groups said: “Celebrating the spirit of community and the remarkable achievements of these outstanding groups is a true testament to the heart and soul of Kilkenny. I congratulate all three nominated groups and I’m proud of the positive impact they’ve made on their communities. Their commitment reflects the spirit of Kilkenny, and I wish them the very best of luck in the IPB Pride of Place Awards 2023. Together, we continue to build a vibrant and caring County for all.”
L-R: Lianne Kelly (Kilkenny County Council), Eva Holmes, Julie Kavanagh, John O’Shea, Declan Nelson & John Fitzgerald (Judges Irish Pride of Place) Sheila Killeen, Marian Morrissey, John Barnaville, Phyllida White, Eamon McArdle, John Nolan, Joe Morrissey, Mairéad Cormack, Mike Cormack.. Photographer: Dave Barnaville
Children left to right
Darragh Lennon, Amy Lennon, Aida Nolan
Community-owned EV charge Supervalu Carpark Callan, Co Kilkenny
Previous Savour(ing) Art at Butler Gallery
Next First-ever Neurodiversity in Education Conference invites educators to foster inclusive practices in Kilkenny