The O’Neill Centre are presented with a cheque for €5000, thanks to the Floodlit Soccer League

Presentation of Cheque for €5000 by Eamon Cleere jnr to Paula Rutkins Director of Services at O'Neill Centre. Also in pic John Dalton league sponsor and league coordinators Eamon Cleere and Gerry O'Keefe.

Kilkenny Floodlit Soccer League 22nd Awards night was held in Kytelers Inn on Thursday last. Winners and Runner up Trophies were presented in 7 competitions as well as Player of Year in Div 1, 2, and 3.

Egans Bar were winners of the James Tynan Memorial Trophy for the League Championship and they were also Floodlit Cup winners while not to be out done, Glendine FC were two competition winners also, winning Div 1 League and Floodlit Shield.

League newcomers Power Ranger from Paulstown were Div 2 winners while Conahy team Dinan Rovers won Div 3. Another new team to the League, Rural Roads Utd led by Padraig Crawford won the Dalton Cup. Player of the Year Trophies in all 3 Divisions were also presented.

The biggest cheer of the night was reserved for the presentation of a cheque for €5000 to The O’Neill Centre. Director of Services at the Centre Paula Rutkins accepted this cheque and thanked Floodlit League organisers Eamon Cleere and Gerry O’Keefe, as well as all participants for their generous donation.

Trophies on the night were presented by League sponsor John Dalton of Daltons Chancellor Mills. John had played in the Floodlit League in previous years and said that he was delighted to be associated with such a well run League that has many benefits.

Preparations are underway for season 2023/24 which will start in September/October with some entrants already in. Any teams wishing to enter the League for next season can get contact details on the League website

List of Winners and Runners up.


Winners:- Egans Bar.

Runner Up:- Glendine FC


Winners:- Glendine FC

Runner Up:- O.S. Utd.


Winners:- Power Rangers.

Rinner Up:- Rural Roads Utd


Winners:- Dinan Rovers.

Runner Up:- Kells FC


Winners:- Egans Bar

Runner Up:- Kearns Butchers


Winners:- Glendine FC

Runner Up:- Rural Roads UTD.


Winners:- Rural Roads Utd.

Runner Up:- Power Rangers.

Player of Year Div 1 – Paul O’Brien – Egans Bar.

Player of Year Div 2 – Jimmy Byrne – Power Rangers

Player of Year Div 3 – Neil O’Riordan – Dinan Rovers.


Previous The importance of the grotto at Deerpark Mine remembered as community gathers for rosary prayer
Next Young Irelands Gowran