O’Loughlin Gaels GAA & camogie awards night

Oloughins 2019 u21 county champions

On Friday evening at the O’Loughlin Gaels GAA Club Lounge the GAA and Camogie Clubs celebrated their teams achievements for 2019, 2020 and 2021. It was an event that had been delayed due to covid related restrictions. Seven hurling teams and one camogie team were celebrated: the u21, Junior B and Junior teams of 2019, the Intermediate Football Winners of 2021 and the U22 Camogie Champions of 2021. The players and their supporters were welcomed by Games Development Chairman Eddie Buckley who invited former chairman Brian Murphy to present the medals alongside Benni Cleere to the hurlers. Camogie Chairman Eoin Lawlor credited the clubs recent success to increased numbers, improved training for coaches, and a hardworking administrating, all of which were overseen by previous chairperson Joan Galwey – inviting her to present those medals to the 2021 Champions. Further awards were presented on the night – the u21 Player if the year for 2019 went to Jordan Molloy. Conor Kelly picked up the Junior B Player of the Year for the same year, while Gary Kelly was that years recipient of the Junior Player if the year.

For Camogie, Danielle Quigley was awarded the u22 Player of the year, Abigail Egan received Emerging Young Talent and Phil Fogarty was the overall Player of the year. Sponsoring the awards for the respective clubs were Pat Carrolls Pub, Ballybought Street and MacDonagh Junction Shopping Centre.

Club Chairman Johnny Holohan closed off the presentations with a word of congratulations to all recipients and common wish to drive on to more successes in 2022. The celebrations continued .. likely into early Saturday morning.

Previous Return journey
Next Masters cock-a-hoop for Marble county event