Kilkenny County Council elect Cathaoirleach for 2023/2024 and mayor and chairpersons of municipal districts


Fine Gael Councillor Michael Doyle has been elected as Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council at the Council AGM this afternoon in the Council Chamber, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny.

The newly elected Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council expressed his pride at taking over the role of Kilkenny’s first citizen.


Leas Cathaoirleach:

Cllr. John Coonan, Fianna Fáil, has been elected Leas Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council.



Kilkenny City Municipal District

Cllr. Joe Malone, Fianna Fáil, was elected Mayor of the Kilkenny Municipal District at Municipal District AGM held on Friday, 9th of June 2023, in Council Chamber, City Hall, Kilkenny.

Cllr. Martin Brett, Fine Gael, has been elected Deputy Mayor of Kilkenny City Municipal District.


Callan/Thomastown Municipal District

Cllr. Deirdre Cullen, Fianna Fáil, was elected Chairperson of the Callan/Thomastown Municipal District and Cllr. Joe Lyons was elected Deputy Chairperson.


Castlecomer Municipal District

Fianna Fáil Councillor, Cllr. Michael Delaney, has been elected Chairperson of the Castlecomer Municipal District and Cllr. John Brennan was elected Deputy Chairperson.


Piltown Municipal District

Fianna Fáil Councillor Gerard Frisby was elected Chairperson of the Piltown Municipal District and Cllr. Eamonn Aylward was elected Deputy Chairperson.


Previous Jim ‘Foxy’ Maher: fellow teacher and author
Next A creative path to your future